8. The Frick Collection
The Frick Collection is located in Henry Clay Frick’s former gilded-age mansion. The house was designed by Thomas Hastings (of Carrère and Hastings) in 1913 with additions by John Russell Pope. The house was opened to the public in 1935 and it is Frick’s personal collection that remains the core of the museum’s collection. Walking through the Frick Collection affords visitors the opportunity to go back in time and truly experience what Fifth Avenue was like in the Gilded Age. Also read about the hidden bowling alley that is off limits to the public!