4. Parachute Jump
The iconic Parachute Jump at Coney Island was originally built for the 1939 World’s Fair in Flushing Meadows and moved to Coney Island’s Steeplechase amusement park in 1941. The ride and the park closed in 1964, and gradually every park structure has been demolished except for this jump, initially due to cost restrictions. It’s a rather resilient structure, having survived numerous attempts to demolish it and sell it. It was even landmarked in 1977 and then unlandmarked three months later due to structural concerns. It ended up on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980, and re-landmarked by New York City in 1980. Today, the structure is programmed to light up for special occasions.