1. A barber in New York City can earn a $5 fine and a misdemeanor charge for giving haircuts on Sunday

In New York City, another blue law dictates that giving hair cuts or shaves on Sunday — what is regarded by the state’s General Business Law as “the first day of the week — can result in a $5 fine and a misdemeanor charge. While this law is quite antiquated — and frankly not enforced in New York City —  it seems to still be in effect in other cities like Houma, Louisiana.

View all on one page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *