5. Northern Section of Trinity Churchyard (1662)

A lesser known fact about Trinity Church: the northern churchyard was not originally part of the property. In 1662, Peter Stuyvesant, gave the Burgomasters of New Amsterdam land to use as the public burial ground. In the Charter of the City of New York from 1868, it was referred to as “the new burial place without the gate of the city.”

In 1697 when New York was under British control, the first Trinity Church was built. In 1703, the northern cemetery was given to Trinity Church with the provision that the city could keep using it as a public burial ground which it did so until 1821, when the city passed the ordinance banning burials south of Grand Street.

Discover the Dutch history of lower Manhattan in our upcoming tour of the Remnants of Dutch New Amsterdam:

Tour of The Remnants of Dutch New Amsterdam