2. New Deal-Era US Post Office

US Post Office Great NeckUS Post Office

The US Post Office in Great Neck Plaza is one of the village’s only buildings on the National Register for Historic Places (NRHP), constructed from 1939-1940. The building was designed by architect William Dewey Foster, hired by the Office of the Supervising Architect involved with many New Deal-era structures. The limestone pentagonal building was designed in the Classical Revival style and features a relief of an eagle below 13 stars designed by Gaetano Cecere. The post office is also known for the four square columns that support its semicircular entrance.

A small relief by the entrance notes the men in charge at the time of the building’s construction, such as Henry Morgenthau Jr., Secretary of the Treasury, and James A. Farley, Postmaster General. The building was added to the NRHP in 1989.