5. Granite Eagles at the Central Park Zoo Came From an Overpass
Today, the Sea Lion Pool at the Central Park Zoo is home to eight granite eagles, which look similar to those found on the facade of the original Penn Station. In reality, they come from an overpass that once existed on 1st Avenue in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn. The structure was built in 1912 and demolished in 1941 to make way for a larger Belt Parkway.
According to NYC Parks and Recreation, the origin of the eagles was unknown until researchers uncovered photographic evidence of the sculptures in their original location; the Parks Monuments division also found a 1941 journal entry, which mentioned that an administrator directed the installation of the eagles at the zoo.
Keep reading to uncover more secrets of the Zoo, and join us for an upcoming Secrets of Central Park walking tour to discover the hidden histories behind other iconic sights within the park!